Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Sunday 18 January 2009

Roy Milton and his Solid Senders - Big Fat Mama

The second Jukebox Lil compilation of Roy Milton sides was issued in 1985, two years after he passed away. The jumping instrumental “Rhythm Cocktail” was the B side of his huge hit on Jukebox, “R.M. Blues”. “I’ll Always Be In Love With You” was released on Roy’s own label (called Roy Milton) and the rest of the sides on this fine album were released on Specialty.

This compilation takes us up to the end of his Specialty career in 1953. While Roy’s style of jump blues which had brought him so much success in the 1940s and early 1950s was out of fashion by 1953, some of his later recordings for Specialty and also his subsequent waxings for Dootone in 1955 were great examples of thumping rocking rhythm and blues, as can be heard on “A Bird In The Hand.”

Tracks recorded between 1945 and 1953.

Ripped from vinyl at 320 kbps.

Download from here:

1. Rhythm Cocktail
2. Big Fat Mama
3. I'll Always Be In Love With You
4. Little Boy Blue
5. So Tired
6. Thelma Lou
7. Someday
8. Roy Rides
9. Blue Turning Grey
10. Believe Me Baby
11. T-Town Twist
12. Am I Wasting My Time?
13. Don't You Remember Baby?
14. Let Me Give You All My Love
15. I Stood By
16. A Bird In The Hand

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

just amazing baby!!!!!!!!!!!!