Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Sunday, 13 January 2019

Count Basie and his Orchestra - Swingin' The Blues LP

Side 1:
01. Swinging The Blues
02. John's Idea
03. Blue & Sentimental
04. Texas Shuffle
05. Panassie Stomp
06. Sent For You Yesterday And Here You Come Today
07. You Can Depend On Me
08. Every Tub

Side 2:
01. Jumpin' At The Woodside
02. Time Out
03. Jive At Five
04. Oh Lady Be Good
05. Shorty George
06. Out The Window
07. Topsy
08. Doggin' Around

I've included "LP" in the title of this post and also in the tagging of this album because, as many of you will be aware, I've previously posted the cassette version of this collection. It was re-upped in March 2015 here:

That was in response to a request for a re-up of the album which was originally posted in August 2008 here:

Last year I came across this LP while browsing in a local charity shop, so here for your delectation is the vinyl version. The sound on the vinyl rips differs considerably from the cassette rips, being clearer, although there are the inevitable clicks, pops and crackles to remind us that the source is a second hand record.

These are recordings made between July 1937 and February 1939 for Decca in New York (the band having migrated from Kansas City in 1936). The lineup includes tenor sax duo Lester Young and Herschel Evans (replaced by Chu Berry in the final session as Evans was in hospital with the heart condition which would cause his death 6 days later). There is the All-American Rhythm Section of Freddy Green (guitar), Walter Page (bass), Count Basie (piano) and Jo Jones (drums). Earl Warren features on clarinet and alto sax, Buck Clayton on trumpet and, shouting the blues on 2 numbers, Mister Five by Five himself, Jimmy Rushing.

Full band lineups and recording dates are on the back cover along with an essay by jazz critic Stan Britt.

Sunday, 6 January 2019

Jimmy Rushing - I Want A Little Girl

Side 1:
01. My Baby's Business
02. Jimmy's Round The Clock Blues
03. Thursday Blues
04. Good Mornin' Blues
05. I've Got To Have You That's All
06. I Want A Little Girl
07. I'm So Lonely
08. Go Get Some More You Fool

Side 2:
01. Hi-Ho-Sylvester
02. The Way I Feel
03. In The Moonlight
04. She's Mine, She's Yours
05. Where Were You?
06. Somebody's Spoiling These Women
07. My Last Affair
08. Baby, Don't Tell On Me

I Want A Little Girl (Zippy)

Jimmy Rushing was the first of the great male blues shouters and a big influence on all who followed in his footsteps, from Joe Turner to Wynonie Harris, from Jimmy Witherspoon to Gatemouth Moore.

He is associated with the roaring Kansas City big blues bands, starting with Walter Page's Blue Devils in the late 1920's and then of course with Bennie Moten and Count Basie. None of the sides on this compilation are with the Basie band (officially), although the first six tracks were recorded while Jimmy was still a member of the Basie outfit. "My Baby's Business" and Jimmy's Round The Clock Blues" were recorded at a Johnny Otis session in LA in 1945 for Excelsior. A year later Jimmy again recorded for Excelsior (tracks 3-6) with the backing band, which consisted mostly of Count Basie band members, going under Jimmy Mundy's name.

The Count Basie band broke up in 1950 and Jimmy kept going with a small group which often featured Dickie Wells, Buddy Tate and Walter Page. He recorded a couple of singles for Gotham in 1950 (not included) and then in 1951 - 1952 four singles for King Records. All of the King sides are on this comp. The remaining two sides here were released as a single on Okeh in 1957 by which time Jimmy was well established in the jazz LP market with releases on Vanguard and Columbia. A single recorded for Parrot in Chicago (Mr 5 x 5) in 1953 with the Frank Culley band is not included.

Full recording details are on the back cover along with an excellent essay by Alun Morgan. I hope you enjoy these sides aimed at the Race Records / R&B market rather than the jazz audience which sustained Jimmy's career through the second half of the 1950's, the 1960's and the early 1970's.

A belated Happy New Year to all followers of Be Bop Wino. We'll be rockin' through 2019!