Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Sunday, 23 November 2008

The Buddy Banks Sextet - Happy Home Blues

This 1989 Official LP takes us back to the origins of R&B in mid 1940s jump band music. Texas tenor sax player Buddy Banks began playing in local swing bands in California in the early 1930s, including those of Charlie Echols and Cee Pee Johnson. In 1945 he formed his own sextet which unusually featured a trombone player rather than a trumpet player alongside Buddy’s tenor sax. His earliest sessions were for the tiny Sterling label and as backup for Marion Abernathy on Juke Box, which would become Specialty.

After some personnel changes the group was recording for Excelsior/United Artists with Fluffy Hunter on vocals. Further mid to late 1940s recordings were made for Melodisc, Modern, King and Specialty. Buddy’s final recording session seems to have been in 1953 for Federal as backup to Marion Abernathy.

While the Buddy Banks Sextet may not have been in the top rank of California jump outfits like those of Roy Milton, Jack McVea or Joe Liggins, the band was more than competent as it featured veterans of local big bands in its lineup. The music they put out was a fine mix of swing, boogie and jazz influenced R&B and the female vocalists on these tracks are among the best of their time.

Ripped from vinyl at 320 kbps.

Download from here:

1. I Need It Bad (Groove Juice)
2. Bank's Boogie (Sterling)
3. Voo-It! Voo-It! (v – MA)
4. Cryin' Blues (v – MA)
5. Fluffy's Debut (v- FH)
6. Bank's Boogie (Excelsior)
7. Hi-Jinks Blues (v – FH)
8. Name It And Claim It
9. Goin' For The Okey-Doke (v – MA)
10. Roses Of Picardy (v – MA)*
11. East Side Boogie
12. "686" Blues
13. Maybe Some Rainy Day (v – BC)
14. Be Fair With Me (v – BC)
15. Happy Home Blues (v – BD)
16. The Nite Is Fading Too Soon (v – BD)

vocalists –
MA = Marion Abernathy (The Blues Woman)
FH = Fluffy Hunter
BC = Bixie Crawford
BD = Baby Davis

* track 10 - probably Marion Abernathy backed by George’s Dukes instead of Buddy Banks

1 comment:

boogieman said...

Thanks, I was not familiar with this band. Good boogie and early jump.
Reminds me a bit of Skeets Tolbert.

By the way "Voo-it, voo-it" was recorded a few years ago by Miss Lavay Smith & her Hot Skillet Lickers, an excellent jump revival combo from California.
Thanks again for all the good nusic.