Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Monday, 15 January 2018

Joe Houston Re-ups

Side 1:
01. Thunder Storm *
02. Trouble, Trouble, Trouble
03. Hurricane **
04. Tough Enough
05. Windy City Hop
06. Earthquake ***

Side 2:
01. Jump The Blues
02. Guided Missile
03. Good-Bye Little Girl
04. Wee, Wee Hours
05. Bobby Sox Ramble

* this is the 78rpm version of "Hurricane."

** this track is not "Hurricane" but is in fact an alternate take of "Bobby Sox Ramble."

*** this track is "Atom Bomb." (Imperial 5213)

The full explanation of the wrong attributions on "Earthquake" is to be found in the cover notes on the Saxophonograph LP "Rockin' 'n' Boppin'."

In response to a request here is a new link to the Pathe Marconi LP of Joe Houston's Imperial sides - "Earthquake."

The link to the Saxophonograph collection of Joe Houston's sides for various labels had also expired, so here we go - 

Side 1
01. Rockin' 'n' Boppin'
02. Flying Home
03. Walking Home
04. Earthquake
05. Waycross Mama Blues
06. Moody
07. Hurricane
08. Go Joe Go

Side 2
01. Cornbread & Cabbage
02. Jay's Boogie
03. Doin' The Lindy Hop
04. Boogie Woogie Woman
05. Hog Maws Part 2
06. Dig It
07. Shtiggy Boom
08. Joe's Gone
09. The Hully

There have been a few posts about Joe Houston on Be Bop Wino over the years. Here's a quick guide -

Joe Houston - Earthquake - includes outline of Joe's career and recommended listening.

Joe Houston - Rockin' 'n' Boppin' - scans from Joan K, plus details of original issues of the tracks.

Rock And Roll With Joe Houston And His Rockets - the Tops LP, with reference to the story of that budget label.

Joe Houston - Doin' The Twist - exploitation a go go from the Crown label plus El Enmascarado's set up for ripping vinyl and shellac.

Joe Houston Special! - last year's attempt at keeping the Joe Houston links up to date. Out of date already!

As I mentioned a couple of posts ago I am currently operating without a turntable, but don't worry folks there's still a supply of previously unposted material to keep us going. There's a couple of "new" LP's heading this way soon, so keep tuned to the Be Bop Wino station.


Anonymous said...

Many thanks for the 4 Joe Houston LP's.
Good music for the house.
Now listening Joe for the first time.
Without your marvellous re-up happenings
I would still be not knowing about him.
So,this thing is very much appreciated.
- Jay from North.

boogiewoody said...

Thanks for your comments Jay. Introducing people to artists they haven't heard before is what the blog is about.