Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Wednesday 26 March 2008

The Great Gates (West Coast R ’n B 1949-1952)

Edward Gates White aka “The Great Gates” enjoyed a recording career as an R&B vocalist from 1949 to 1955, before changing to recording jazz organ instrumentals. This Krazy Kat collection documents the first 3 years of his career during which he continually shifted between various small West Coast labels such as Selective, Kappa and Miltone. His backing band included Marvin Phillips on tenor sax. The sound quality on these recordings is on the rough side, as is the musicianship at times.

The back cover of the LP includes extensive sleevenotes.

Ripped from vinyl at 320 kbps. Password = greaseyspoon

Download link:

1. Rocking Time
2. Farewell Baby
3. Ain't Got No Money
4. Race Track Blues
5. Change Your Ways
6. Rock Me
7. Blue After Hours
8. Central Rocks
9. Rock Me Baby
10. Checkin' Up Blues
11. Home Town Boy
12. Teardrops Are Falling
13. Come Back Home
14. Sad And Lonesome
15. Evening Blues
16. Later After Hours

No comments: