Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Sunday, 3 April 2016

Battle Of The Blues Volume 3 (King LP 634)


Side 1 (Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson):
01. Person To Person
02. I'm Weak But I'm Willing
03. Somebody Done Stole My Cherry Red
04. Queen Bee
05. Featherbed Mama
06. I Trusted You Baby
07. No Good Woman
08. Ashes On My Pillow

Side 2 (Jimmy Witherspoon):
01. The Last Mile
02. 24 Sad Hours
03. Blues In Trouble
04. Sad Life
05. Don't Tell Me How
06. Foolish Prayer
07. Highway To Happiness
08. I Done Told You

Download from here:

Volume 3 of King's "Battle Of The Blues" series was originally released in 1959. The recording details are in the original post from 8th December 2008 here:

The Eddie Vinson tracks were recorded for King between 1949 and 1952. The Jimmy Witherspoon tracks were recorded for Federal in 1952 and 1953.

The Eddie Vinson story can be read on these two blog posts:

"Mr Cleanhead Steps Out" (11th September 2010) at -

and "Cherry Red Blues" (27th September 2010) at -

Please note that "Battle Of The Blues Volume 4" was ripped at 128 kbps.

Thanks to Joan K for this series.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

thank You for the comp;
the link worked still.
Thanks for Joan K. also.
- Jay from the North.