Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Saturday, 2 April 2016

Battle Of The Blues (King LP 607)


Side 1 (Roy Brown):
01. Boogie At Midnight
02. Big Town
03. Bar Room Blues
04. Love Don't Love Nobody
05. Miss Fanny Brown
06. Lolly Pop Mama
07. I've Got The Last Laugh Now

Side 2 (Wynonie Harris)
01. Bloodshot Eyes
02. Good Rockin' Tonight
03. Loving Machine
04. Shake That Thing
05. I Feel That Old Age Coming On
06. All She Wants To Do Is Rock
07. Good Morning Judge

Download from:

Hang on to your hats, rockin' cats 'n' jivin' kittens, because someone has requested a re-up of the entire King "Battle Of The Blues" series. These LPs were originally issued in the late 1950s / early 1960s. They were collections of sides by Roy Brown, Wynonie Harris, Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson and Jimmy Witherspoon which had been released as singles on King / Federal / DeLuxe from the late 1940s through to the mid 1950s.

This LP, the first in the series, was issued in 1958. "Rousing" is the word for the music contained herein as Roy and Wynonie bawl the blues over a raucous backing of pounding drums and squealing saxes.

Joan K donated all 4 volumes to Be Bop Wino back in September 2008. The original music files were in m4a format which I then converted to mp3 (192 kbps), so the sound quality isn't so hi in the fi. It's still good enough to freak out the neighbours, especially if you hook up your laptop / desktop / tablet or whatever to your sound system like I do. Let the blues blast forth!

The original post can be found here:

More info and brilliant tracks by Roy Brown available on this post of the Gusto 2LP set "Hard Luck Blues":

More info on Wynonie Harris on this post of the Route 66 LP "Oh Babe!":

No comments: