Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Thursday 27 November 2008

Roy Brown & Wynonie Harris - Battle of the Blues Volume 2 (King LP 627)

Thanks to Joan for these vinyl rips of the second in the “Battle of the Blues” series of LPs released by King. This particular collection was released in 1959 and once again the battle is between two of the greatest R&B vocalists of all time – Wynonie Harris and Roy Brown. Whereas the first volume featured rockin’ rhythm and blues, the second volume is a compilation of mean and moody slow blues tracks. Might I make so bold as to suggest that Roy Brown is the winner here? Download and decide for yourselves, blues fans!

Ripped from vinyl @ 192 kbps.

Download from here:

Side 1 - Roy Brown:
1. Hard Luck Blues
2. Dreamin' Blues
3. Long About Sundown
4. Double Crossin' Woman
5. Sweet Peach
6. Wrong Woman Blues
7. Brown Angel

Side 2 - Wynonie Harris:
8. Man, Have I Got Troubles
9. I'll Never Give Up
10. Here Comes The Night
11. Luscious Woman
12. Drinking Blues
13. Nearer My God To Thee
14. Tremblin'

1 comment:

Ray Cooper said...

How come no comment? You have made a great contribution, especially because it is a vinyl. The music is excellent and sounds very good. For lovers of the best music, this is a gift beyond price. His dedication in collecting these records is commendable. Thank you very much from Spain.