Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Saturday 13 December 2008

Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson, Roy Brown & Wynonie Harris - Battle of the Blues Volume 4 (King LP 668)

Issued around 1959/1960, this was the last in the King Records Battle of the Blues series of blues shouter retrospective compilations.

The Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson tracks date from May/June 1950 and July 1952. The Wynonie Harris tracks date from December 1948 (“Grandma Plays the Numbers” which features Frank Culley on alto sax and Hal Singer on tenor sax), May 1952 (“Rock Mr Blues”) and November 1952 (“Bring it Back”, recorded with the Sonny Thompson band). Roy Brown’s tracks were recorded in December 1952, December 1953 and May 1954. Full session information is included in the download.

Thanks to Joan for this series of LPs.

Ripped from vinyl.

Download from here:

1. Big Mouth Gal / Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson
2. Bring It Back / Wynonie Harris
3. If You Don't Think I'm Sinking / Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson
4. Trouble At Midnight / Roy Brown
5. Peas And Rice / Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson
6. Rock Mr Blues / Wynonie Harris
7. Lonesome Train / Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson
8. Old Age Boogie / Roy Brown
9. Bald Headed Blues / Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson
10. Grandma Plays The Numbers / Wynonie Harris
11. Good Bread Alley / Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson
12. Queen Of Diamonds / Roy Brown


Anonymous said...

Wonderful, as always. Thanks to you and to Joan!

Moses said...

Fantastic series! On the previous disc, the Jimmy Witherspoon tune The Last Mile just tears me up - I had to learn it, and performed it last night. Went over great, as heavy as it is, for swing dancing! Thanks!

Aguar said...

Hola saludos he incluido este sitio en Rock-Blogroll

Baron said...

Thank you Joan