Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Wednesday 6 April 2016

Lowell Hastings, Danny Turner, Eddie Woodland - Count "Red" Hastings


Side A:
01. Diga Diga Do - Count Hastings
02. Sugar Cane - Count Hastings
03. Minor In The Diner - Count Hastings*
04. She's Funny That Way - Count Hastings
05. Patches - Count Hastings*
06. Begin The Beguine - Count Hastings
07. Candied Yam - Count Hastings

Side B:
01. Patches - Count Hastings
02. Baboo - Count Hastings
03. Minor In The Diner - Count Hastings*
04. Midnight Moan - Danny Turner*
05. Snap Case - Eddie Woodland*
06. Jumpin' With Pio - Eddie Woodland*
07. Danny's Jump - Danny Turner **

* = previously unreleased take
** = previously unreleased title

Download from:

Re-up of an LP originally posted on the 18th November 2007, back in the first few months of  Be Bop Wino. I've added new scans of the back and front covers plus the labels.

This is where R&B meets jazz or vice versa. Cool and jumping sax workouts from 1948 / 1949 for the Gotham label. The notes by Tony Burke explain all and include complete lists of all recording sessions by Lowell "Count" Hastings and Danny Turner. Count Hastings in particular had an extensive R&B career including sessions with Lucky Millinder, Illinois Jacquet, Wynonie Harris and Little Willie John. He was also a member of the bands of Earl Bostic and Louis Jordan.

The only sides on this LP which were released as a single were "Begin The Beguine" / "Candied Yam" on Gotham 171. These sides were recorded in New York on 29th November 1948. The rest of the Count Hastings tracks were recorded in New York on January 4th 1950 but remained unreleased at the time.

Danny Turner had one release on Gotham - "Give Me Some More Of That Real Fine Loving" / ""Midnight Moan" on Gotham 183, from his only session for Gotham under his own name in June 1949 in Philadelphia. The released take of "Midnight Moan" was different from the one presented on this album.

Eddie Woodland had one release on Gotham under his own name, Gotham 194 "Snap Case" / "Jumpin' With Pio" recorded on May 20th 1949 in Philadelphia. Again, these were different takes to the ones presented here.

The original 2007 post on this LP can be found here:

No comments: