Be Bop Wino Pages

Joan Selects - the complete Joan Selects Collection

Big Ten Inchers - 78rpm rips by El Enmascarado

Attention Mac Users!

Mac users have been experiencing problems in unpacking the WinRAR archives used on this blog. Two solutions have been suggested.

1. Use The Unarchiver - - see comments on Little Esther Bad Baad Girl post for details.

2. Use Keka - - see comments on Johnny Otis Presents post.

Monday 13 June 2016

Wynonie Harris Re-Ups

Side 1:
01. Around The Clock parts 1 & 2
02. Cock-A-Doodle-Doo
03. Yonder Goes My Baby
04. Time To Change Your Town
05. Hard Ridin' Mama
06. You Got To Get Yourself A Job, Girl
07. My Baby's Barrel House

Side 2:
01. Oh Babe!
02. Luscious Woman
03. Bad News Baby (There'll Be No Rockin' Tonight)
04. Stormy Night Blues
05. Down Boy Down
06. Git To Gittin' Baby
07. Don't Take My Whiskey Away From Me
08. I Get A Thrill

Download from:

Original post (2nd November 2009) with extensive biography, original release information, and recommended purchases is here:

Side 1:
01. I Gotta Lyin' Woman - Wynonie Harris
02. Playful Baby - Wynonie Harris
03. Rebecca's Blues - Wynonie Harris
04. Take Me Out Of The Rain - Wynonie Harris
05. Everybody's Boogie - Wynonie Harris
06. Papa Tree Top - Wynonie Harris
07. Lollipop Mama - Wynonie Harris
08. Ghost Of A Chance - Wynonie Harris

Side 2:
01. Married Women - Stay Married - Wynonie Harris
02. Do It Again, Please - Wynonie Harris
03. Triflin' Woman - Wynonie Harris
04. Night Train - Wynonie Harris
05. Bring It Back - Wynonie Harris
06. Nearer My Love To Thee - Wynonie Harris
07. Git With The Grits - Wynonie Harris
08. Good Mambo Tonight - Wynonie Harris

Download from:

Original post (4th November 2009) with original release information is here:

Note that for these re-ups label scans have been added and sound volume boosted. The "Playful Baby" download includes the full gatefold sleeve. The "Oh Babe!" download includes the inner sleeve which contains notes and song lyrics. The original "Oh Babe!" post includes an outline of the career of Wynonie "Mr. Blues" Harris who was simply one of the most important artists in the history of R&B.


Frank Jive said...

These were real discoveries for me in the mid-80s; I already had the King/Gusto 2-LP but Playful Baby was the album that really got me going on “Mr. Blues.” Nice to see these again. . . .

KurtGS said...

Thanx for these two Wynonie Harris! Just what I needed this gloomy day!

boogiewoody said...

'Tis my pleasure Kurt. We couldn't have the blog with some Wynonie LPs. Frank, that Gusto 2LP set was my first Wynonie Harris LP too. Then I got "Oh Babe!" The man was a force of nature.


MaliceMan said...

Any chance of re-upping Playful Baby? Link is dead.

boogiewoody said...

New link for Playful Baby is now up.


ThomasBiffMcFly said...

Any chance of re-uploading Playful Baby?

boogiewoody said...

Playful Baby re-upped!


Tony said...


Once you've returned to active duty would it be possible to re-up 'Oh Babe!' yet again?

Thanks for all this great music and I hope you're a having a nice break.


Tony Adam